Summertime

12 June 2012 § Leave a comment

Wow, it’s been a long time since I posted!

I’ve been keeping busy with schoolwork for lo these past months, but it is summer at long last! I made the decision not to go to school during the summer this year. I was just too burnt out after going last summer. I generally feel ennui toward the end of the quarter, but it bled into the whole quarter this time around and it started to get to where I was just barely keeping my GPA in the “A” range for my classes and not even particularly caring about that. Unfortunately, if you aspire to be a doctor, you have to care about it. It’s just the way it is.

Add to that the fact that I will be moving to my school’s main campus this year, so I really need some R&R before I tackle the final leg of my college journey.

I haven’t had time to knit for months, which is something I’m very glad to remedy this summer! Several of my wonderful friends are having babies this year, so it’s time to kick the knitting in gear and make some items for tiny humans.

First up, as well as my first FO for 2012, is a pair of baby mittens without thumbs for a lovely woman who is having her first girl and very excited about it!

 Mittens for Babby II

Mittens for Babby

They are the Basic Baby Mittens pattern in Vanna’s Choice “Taupe.” I’m currently knitting the icord to attach them together. I started them before we knew what she was having, so I chose a neutral color. I’m not a huge fan of Vanna’s Choice, but it is inexpensive, washable, and comes in a variety of colors. They’re pretty stiff, which I always tend to feel about anything made in this yarn and probably wasn’t helpful that I made them on size 5 needles. She’s already got 2 other children though, so she has enough on her plate that I didn’t want to add having to handwash mittens to.

The yarn was very splitty. I originally bought this color & another to make an afghan, then I changed it to Christmas decorations, and finally pulled it out for some baby items. I soaked them in Eucalan tonight and threw them in the dryer and they’ve softened slightly, but not too much. I liked the pattern. I tend to have a hard time judging the size of babies, so I will always need a pattern for anything baby-related. After I knit the first one, it seemed large to me, but oh well. They’re babies. They grow. Word from the mom is that since the dad found out they were having a girl, he has been buying ALL THE PINK THINGS! So I’m glad I made them in a neutral color that will go with pink well.

Dandelion

I’m really excited to enjoy my summer & keep knitting!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summertime at purlyWhirl.

meta

