Imminent Doom

15 November 2011 § Leave a comment

It’s a lovely dreary November day outside. I’m sitting with a cup of coffee and some notes. Tomorrow will kick off my finals, so I have quite a bit of last-minute studying and procrastination damage-control ahead. Every finals week of every quarter I think next time I’ll get it together and actually begin studying ahead of time and yet that has not happened in the six many years I’ve gone to school. The only subject in which I am in absolute peril if I don’t study is my math class, but, frankly, I’ve been in school for 19 years and I’m well aware by now that any math class means certain doom for my grades.

Sunbathing

I took a mini-trip with my boyfriend over the weekend and had a lovely time. It was much-needed stress relief. I had intended to write a paper and knit the rest of my left Chevalier mitten while I was away, but I only knit 2 rows and didn’t write a single word of the paper.  Something within me snapped this quarter; I can’t focus on anything. I’ve been going to school and working for so long that I can’t find it in me to care about either anymore.  But after Thursday I have a month and a half break and it already has me dreaming of all the things I’m going to knit and all the sleep I’m going to enjoy. (Actual sleep amount may vary.)  I’m queuing up quite a few Christmas projects that I want to try. As silly as I think it is that places have Christmas trees out to buy in August (I’m looking at you, Hobby Lobby), I don’t mind the subtle hints of the Christmas season that pop up in November. I usually get really excited about Christmas at this time and then by the time it actually rolls around I’m so sick to death of it that I think a full year calendar between this one and the next isn’t enough. This year I’m keeping it low-key. Yes, I’ll admit that I’ve already listened to my holiday Pandora station, but I still have my pumpkins on the mantle which really means that it’s still Decorative Gourd Season, mofos.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Imminent Doom at purlyWhirl.

meta

