Knittiversary come and gone

3 November 2011 § Leave a comment

Last month was my third knittiversary. Sometime in mid-October 2008, I began my first Red Heart garter stitch scarf. I wanted to be sure I knew the knit stitches really well before I did anything else. Then halfway through I got bored and bound off. Not that I probably would’ve worn it anyway. The color that I loved so much looked like some kind of mangled camo and I ended up hating the thing. It was my first experience with pooling and the letdown that variegated yarns sometimes are. Regardless, I was smitten with the experience of knitting from the first stitch.

Sometimes, when I look at my Ravelry page I get really disappointed. I don’t have all the time I would like to to knit all the things I want, and pesky schoolwork and trying to keep a roof over my head get in the way. I look at other people’s Rav pages who have completed enough sweaters to clothe a small country and when they have been knitting only a slightly longer time than I have, it gets me down a little bit. My project page is full of plain scarves and hats. Not that it’s a bad thing, but I still long for those intricate, beautiful shawls and sweaters. I would have them if it weren’t for my lack of attention span. I start those beautiful projects and because I become distracted I inevitably mess up in a big way and have to frog. After a couple of projects where this happens, it becomes soul-crushing, so I revert to my comfort knitting, hats. 

This time I decided to make myself something special for my knittiversary, so I’m making Chevalier mittens. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Knittiversary come and gone at purlyWhirl.

meta

