Goodbye, Summer

3 September 2011 § Leave a comment

Here we are in September; I’ve been waiting for this since the 6th of July (after the 4th & my birthday I could just fast-forward through summer, the same goes for winter: as soon as the Christmas lights come down I’m finished with the whole affair). Fall is my favorite time of year. Later this month Steve & I will have been together for 6 years, and when we first started dating we talked quite extensively of how fall was the perfect time of year to fall in love. I still think it is. Fall is for snuggling and bonfires and being able to use your oven again. You can’t have a bad fall day: if it’s brisk, you think about how you love the crisp fall air, and if it’s warm you think about how you’ll miss days like this when it’s winter.

 
bonfire

So why the hell has it been 95° for the past two days? I woke up to take my run today and it was already 78° and muggy as can be. It’s been hotter in the first two days of September than it was in the last two weeks of August. I just want my lovely fall weather back.  

The picture is from a bonfire we had on Monday for my friend Nichole’s 24th birthday. As a birthday gift, she received this from me:

lilac howie hat

It’s a Slouchy Copycat Hat, but not really very slouchy, because I consulted her and she said she wanted a more fitted hat. This pattern is really easy and comes out quite beautifully. I only had to frog it once, because I realized I’d picked it up and started knitting the ribbing in the wrong direction. I used some of the mods listed on Ravelry, mainly yarn overs as increases for the first increase row, and decreases that kept with the pattern.

 howie hat

The yarn is KnitPicks Swish in Sugar Plum. This was my first time working with Swish and I really enjoyed it. It was a little splitty, but very soft, and it was important to me that my friend be able to wash her hat without felting it. I used wooden needles so the splittiness didn’t drive me too crazy. The ribbing was done on size 5’s and the body of the hat on size 7s and it worked quite well for making a close-fitting hat that also covers the ears.   She seemed quite happy with it, which makes me happy, and I’m thinking of knitting another one, slouchy this time, for myself.   

School begins Tuesday, but hopefully I still have knitting time. Happy Labor Day!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Goodbye, Summer at purlyWhirl.

meta

