spiralling into the sun

4 August 2011 § Leave a comment

For the past month or so, I’ve felt like I’ve been living in that episode of The Twilight Zone where the earth is getting closer to the sun and everyone is freaking out, then the girl wakes up out of a feverish sleep and we find that she is ill and the earth is actually travelling away from the sun and everything is getting colder.

red petunias

But the heat has finally started to break. Today was a relatively mild 84 degrees. The blanket is ongoing; I had to frog back a couple inches because I can’t figure out how to properly pick up dropped garter stitches. Knitting a baby blanket in the hottest summer evar has been quite a challenge. I’ve mostly been sitting in front of the air conditioner and watching Mad Men on Netflix to allay the heat and boredom. Next time I will crochet.  One of the benefits of ripping out was that I noticed that I could actually be knitting the blanket horizontally which should make it faster.. It still feels like it will never end, though.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading spiralling into the sun at purlyWhirl.

meta

