Feeling Fearless

12 February 2011 § Leave a comment

Knitters, I have an important confession to make. I am not, as Stephanie Pearl-McPhee has urged us all to be, a fearless knitter. In fact, I am a cowardly knitter. I have a lot of nice yarn, and yet I’d estimate that 99.9% of the items I’ve knit have been out of yarns that cost $5.99 or less and are sold at my local JoAnn’s or Hobby Lobby. The reason is that I am terrified to knit with my nice yarn, and I will never knit something I have never attempted to knit before in nice yarn. The first 5 hats I knit were made of Paton’s products. In fact, only 1 hat I have knit has been made of something not Paton’s and that was for my boyfriend who would not stand for the “itchiness” of Classic Merino or the shiny Angora Bamboo. If I sewed, I would think myself to be of the sewing school of knitters who make a “muslin” out of inexpensive yarn to make sure it worked before I used the good stuff.

Except that even after five hats, I’m still terrified to use the good stuff. The fact is, knitting gets screwed up, and while you’d think I would accept this, having understood it for two full years,  I can’t come to terms with it. That’s why it’s sort of odd that I am trying this:

 

top-down hat

 

from this

parents of baby boob-hat

Now, you might be saying to yourself: “Oh wow, fantastic job, Alyssa. That’s a really nice knitted boob.” But what it actually is is a top-down hat, something I’ve never tried, out of Fibre Company’s Road to China Light, a really nice yarn. And I’m not going to lie, I frogged this 4 times and restarted, but this yarn is so nice I didn’t even mind.

I’m using Jane Richmond’s pattern and the world is totally not falling apart around me even though I’m in uncharted waters. I think the reason I was so scared was because my increases are pitiful looking next to the tight uniformity of my decreases, but it’s working out. I might have a new hat soon.

In other news, an FO:

  
socks

Which are finally getting their first bath because when I wet block all my things seem to grow, so I at least wanted to get one good wear out of them while they fit nicely. And if they grow a ridiculous amount, they were lovely while they lasted, and at least it’s just Paton’s, right?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Feeling Fearless at purlyWhirl.

meta

