An exciting day

4 January 2010 § Leave a comment

Yesterday was tough. Work was stressful, and I was just about at my wit’s end. As today is (seemingly) my only day off this week, I wanted it to be something special.

When I woke up today, it was snowing, which was lovely. Then I got online and used the Knitpicks giftcard my mom got me for Christmas. A big fat box full of yarn, needles, books, and a ballwinder should promptly be on its way to me. (yay!)

Then I decided to journey to a local yarn store. It was part cabin fever, part need for instant knitting gratification. I didn’t really find any yarn I had to have, however, I did find this:

New Spindle

I am so excited to try to learn how to use it. Whereas last year I seemed to have trouble breaking through into fearlessness about knitting, I started a mitten last night (it’s hideous looking but a learning experience), have started downloading free sock patterns, am looking up videos on Fair Isle and continental knitting. I can’t tell what’s gotten into me. It must be the free-spirited possibility bound up with the coming of a new year.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An exciting day at purlyWhirl.

meta

