c25k

30 September 2009 § Leave a comment

cables So I began the Couch-to-5k program last week, only to discover how out of shape I am. I mean, believe you me, it’s no secret that I am both out of shape and overweight, but I was disappointed in learning just how out of shape I am. The first day I was wheezing and panting like I hadn’t exercized in years (when really it’s only been months).

I finished the last week, days 1 & 2 I was quite sore and miserable. I had shin splints, my thighs ached, my gluteal muscles, my shoulders, my mid-back. I mean, I kept up a running regimen for quite a long time between 16 and 18, and I never ached the way I did last week.
  Luckily, by day 3 it got better. I’ve even started entertaining the idea of going on daily runs because my muscles have gotten used to it. Tomorrow is day 2 of week 2. Yesterday, I even walked an extra mile to get myself used to 3 miles (for me 25 mins=2 miles) I’ve been, on average, between 12:30-14 minute miles. Which is slow, but for my level of activity in the past year is not all that bad. I stepped on the scale yesterday to (sadly) reveal that I haven’t budged one lousy pound since beginning this routine. I’m still at 151lbs and a bmi of 25.9 which puts me in firmly at overweight. But I’m going to keep plugging away, because running makes me feel good and I’m on my way to a healthier lifestyle.
    It’s been getting chillier lately too, which means knitting motivation! I finished my Hermione hat the same day of my last post, it turned out really lovely and I’ve had some nice comments on it when I wear it out. Now I’m working on jogless stripes with 2 colors of Paton’s Classic Wool in chocolate brown and “paprika”. I went to Von Strohm a couple weeks ago and picked up some lovely red Manos and some orange tweedy Peace Fleece. I don’t have any idea what to do with either of them, because they’re so beautiful I don’t even want to use them. Tomorrow night is Chicks with Sticks!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading c25k at purlyWhirl.

meta

