FO: Have a Toasty Christmas

17 August 2011 § 2 Comments

So yesterday I actually finished something. Impressive, I know. To add to the pure impressiveness of the feat, it was a Christmas gift (finished in August!) One down, tonnes to go.

 
Toasty pairIt’s Toasty!
 

This particular gift is for my friend, Sarah. Last year I was wary of knitting things out of full-blown wool blends for my friends. I mean, I love them all to death, but we’re all a little absentminded. I didn’t know how handwashing would go, necessarily. But I started the Taffy Pull Scarf in Bamboo Ewe. Even though the yarn is more bamboo than ewe, it still has a reputation for felting like a mofo.

However, she has kept it unfelted and worn it several times since I gave it to her. Now I’m just sad she won’t get the matching gloves until smack in the middle of winter. I briefly considered giving these to her early and then knitting her the hat I promised 2 years ago, but probably not. There are many other Xmas knits to be knitted.

Toasty walnuts

I knit 4 gloves for this particular project. I wanted them to be striped in the colors of the scarf. Rather unfortunately, I am incapable of jogless stripes. I’ve tried TechKnitting and I’ve tried the Meg Swanson method and neither of them seem to work for me. So after knitting a whole striped glove and hoping it would “block out” (it didn’t) I decided to accept my fate and just knit them in one color.  If they were for me, it would’ve been fine, but my worst nightmare is that someone will look at the flaws in something I’ve made for someone and comment on it.

For the last inch I did a twisted 1×1 rib. I love the look of the original toasty, but I think a glove that lays flat is more practical. I used Jenny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-Off, which is fabulous to have learned. It is indeed very stretchy.

I love the sheen of the Bamboo Ewe, and as you knit it has a lovely halo, but it loses some of it in the blocking.

 

Eucalan bath

Blocking.

 This is only 7/12 in 2011. So I need to knit fast and accrue some more FO’s.

 Unfortunately, now it’s time for homework.

 

§ 2 Responses to FO: Have a Toasty Christmas

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading FO: Have a Toasty Christmas at purlyWhirl.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

